Maddening power steering leak - Dodge Dakota Forum : Custom Dakota Truck Forums
I have a Question? Ask and answer questions about anything here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 01-23-2010, 08:10 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Points: 176, Level: 3 Points: 176, Level: 3 Points: 176, Level: 3
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
Maddening power steering leak

My PS started leaking bout a week ago, it looked to be cming from the cooler unit, so, I bought a new one (going to put it in today...I don't see home in the daylight much these days) however, as I crawl around looking at it closer, I'm not sure if thats what the issue is or not. The pump is very hard to see clearly, so, I'm going to have to move a few things to get a better look. have to do it to get the cooler out anyway methinks. How hard is it to swap pumps, if I have to go that route? I hate leaks!! I'm a plumber, by trade, so, leaks get me a bit tense. I will figure it out as I go, I'm sure, just wonered if anyone else has been through this already and has any words of wisdom that might save me some greif. LMAO< my cab and engine bay are the cleanest things on my truck, I have some body work to do now thanks to my daughter and her verminous boyfriend, so, oil slinging around under my hood causes me much uneeded stress. I's a 00 4.7 in a 4x4 Sport.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 01-23-2010, 08:22 AM
Photo Nazi/Post Whore

Points: 4,659, Level: 28 Points: 4,659, Level: 28 Points: 4,659, Level: 28
Send a message via AIM to 94mark3 Send a message via Yahoo to 94mark3
I've noticed that leaks sometimes don't come from where they appear to be coming from, and finding one is a cat and mouse game.

I've never taken a close look at the ps pump in the Dakota. But I know in the z world the high pressure line is what leaks. Or the copper o ring on the banjo bolts.