Dodge Dakota Forums banner

Need technical help...

2K views 11 replies 4 participants last post by  Supra 
#1 ·
I'm a mechanic working on a 2002 V6 Dakota that "suddenly died on the road".

I've narrowed the problem to the 12V coil only getting 6.5-7V while cranking the engine.

Tests include:
voltage from +pin to -pin at the coil connector = 6.5-7V while cranking.
voltage from +coil to -battery = 12V (battery voltage) while cranking.
resistance from coil pin to ECU is low resistance and not shorted out.

The coil itself tests fine and is putting out a weak yellow spark consistant with low voltage input. The rest of the ignition system wires, cap and rotor and plugs look good.

My understanding is that the ASD relay kills power to both fuel and spark. I do have fuel getting injected to the motor so I ruled it out.

That basically leaves the PCM grounding the coil.

Am I looking at replacing the PCM or have i missed something obvious or unique to this vehicle?

Thanks for any help you can provide!

See less See more
#3 · (Edited)
Now my posts are doing weird stuff...

I tested from coil +pin to the battery -pin i got 12V (actual battery voltage). Unless I'm misunderstanding the wire diagrams, this would be pulling 12V across the ASD relay to a good ground while cranking which shows the ASD is OK. I also have fuel.

So the answer to your question is 'no, I didn't test the relay itself'. I tested the circuit... :eek:)

Where is that relay located on a 2002 truck?

#7 · (Edited)
OK here's the update:

Still no spark, definitely has fuel...

I found the relay and the relay itself checks out OK. I swapped it for another of the same part number and no change.