Dodge Dakota Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy, I'm a newbie to both lowered suspensions and this forum, so I hope ya'll can bear with me.

I purchased a 2001 Dodge Dakota recently and love the truck, especially the look of the lowered suspension. What I don't love is the bumpy ride. Through my trial-by-fire I've modified: 1) The shocks, from factory blisteins to toxic (btw, toxic shocks are terrible imo), 2) I cut down the bumpstops on the rear which gave a high degree of suspension travel. Both of these changes made for a smoother ride, but not quite smooth enough.

I now want to replace the toxic shocks with belltech nitro actives as I've heard from multiple people this is the softest, quality shock you can get for under $70, however no place locally or online seems to sell them for 2001 Dakotas.

I need some help! If you have a similar lowering job, what shocks do you have experience with and what were your results? Where in the HELL can I buy belltech nitro actives? And lastly, I know air bag jobs are the way to go, however I have a limited budget and am open to any suggestions as to how I can make my ride something above that of a go-cart. Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
397 Posts
I agree Toxic shocks suck. Rancho 9000's. They are 5 way adjustable so you can stiffen or soften the ride.

Do you know how the truck was lowered? Coil springs up front and blocks in the rear? What brand lowering kit?

·
Registered
442 Posts
I would look into a better set of shocks too...the bilstein TVS 1000's are lifetime shocks and are made for a 2/3 drop. I have them and they are the most awesome drop shocks IMO. You get what you pay for.

Also, if you have just a block drop in the rear, there wont be much you can do, blocks are hard to soften a ride out....

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·