Dodge Dakota Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A newbie here with newbie questions. First a little background:

I'm the original owner of a '94 Dakota Sport. It's a 2WD regular cab short bed with the 318 Magnum, A518 trans, and 3.90:1 Sure-Grip. Some options I went for were the "bright package", trans and power steering cooler, and sliding rear window. Early on I did a 2"/3" drop with Western drop spindles and brackets. I always wanted to hot rod it a little, but as you know, life gets in the way. That, and in Sept. '08 I got myself a 2009 Challenger R/T six speed and all of my attention (and money) goes to that.

The Dak now has 173,000 miles and mechanically is still great. My only issue is the valve seals need to be replaced, as I'm using a quart of oil every 1000 miles. Since I have to go into the engine anyway...

I'd like to do a pretty mild build of the 318. I'm looking for around 1hp per cube crank. I still use it as a truck so I can't go too wild with it.

I see some of you are using the Mopar M1 intake. Do they sell these set up with the injector holes pre-drilled? I always thought it was only for carbs.

What else will I need?

Cam recommendations?
1.7 roller rockers?
Mopar Performance computer?
Bigger throttle body (58mm seems pretty small considering my stock 345HEMI is 80mm)?
Will 2.02" intake valves clear the block without having to notch it? The stock 1.925" valves seem pretty big for 318 cubes.

As for exhaust, where I live since I now drive it less than 5000 mi. a year I don't have emissions testing so I'd like to ditch the cat. Will Dakota R/T factory headers fit this chassis? I'm thinking I might run a 3" single exhaust to a single inlet, dual out muffler.

If I reach my hp goal do you think the stock torque converter will be OK?

Sorry for so many questions and thanks for any guidance! :)

Oh, BTW, here's my Challenger :cool:

·
Member of Team Awsome
1,261 Posts